Orchestra of the Swan: A Scandinavian Serenade

Mendelssohn               String Symphony no10 in B minor
Grieg                          Two Elegiac Melodies
Grieg                          Holberg Suite
Dvořák                       Serenade for Strings in E major op22

Opening with a one-movement piece written when Mendelssohn was only 14 years old, the programme develops into a lyrical and intense combination of Slavic nationalism and folk elements which includes is one of the most regularly performed and popular suites for string orchestras.

Conducted by David Curtis.


The third in a series of three Orchestra of the Swan concerts at Number 8 which also includes Magical Mozart on Friday 17 February and The English Genius on Friday 24 March. Save 20% when you book tickets for all three concerts.

The multi-buy offer of 20% off when you buy tickets for all 3 concerts in the series is only available for purchases made via the Number 8 Box office. It is not available online.

Friday 28 April 2017 - 7.30pm Pre-concert talk 6.45pm

Tickets: £15.50 (buy all 3 at Box Office and save 20%)
(plus 85p per ticket fee if booked online)

1hrs 35mins (inc interval)