Orchestra of the Swan

Romantic Strings

Tchaikovsky Andante Cantabile (from String Quartet, Op. 11)
Mendelssohn Concert Pieces Op 113 & 114 for Two Clarinets
Mendelssohn String Symphony No.7 in D minor
Tchaikovsky Serenade for Strings Orchestra

An evening with two extremely effective works by Mendelssohn, one which celebrates the unique sound and performance technique of the clarinet family and the other which marks Mendelssohn’s transition into the world of mature Symphonic composition. The concert starts with the melancholic Andante cantabile of the String Quartet No.1 in D major, a famous movement in its own right; one of the late Romantic era’s definitive compositions is the perfect ending.

Orchestra of the Swan are joined by soloists Sally Harrop and Luan Shaw.

Conducted by Jason Lai.

Ticket holders are invited to join Orchestra of the Swan for a pre-concert talk at 6.45pm.


The second in the spring concert series from Orchestra of the Swan which also includes English Genius  on Friday 16 February, Magical Mozart on Friday 20 April and Bach to the Future on Friday 18 May.

Save 20% when you book tickets for all four concerts. Please note the multi-buy offer is only available for purchases made via the Number 8 Box Office, it is not available online.

Friday 16 March - 7.30pm (Pre-concert talk 6.45pm)

Tickets: £15.50 (multi-buy offer, save 20% when you buy tickets for all four concerts)
(plus 85p per ticket fee if booked online)